michelles blog

Customize a WordPress Site

I’m making some adjustments to a wordpress theme I downloaded, and the learning activity this week is to document what I’ve tweaked and why.

LA: Take your theme that you have installed on your hosting account and customise it. Then find some WordPress hacks that you can use to customise your website even further. Explain the tweaks you made and your reasoning for adding certain features. 

This is my wordpress portfolio (take note that I haven’t included the actual content yet…thats for next week):

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 9.11.09 PM

 

Step 1:

I downloaded FASHION & MAG RESPONSIVE THEME, shown here:

Screen Shot 2013-04-28 at 9.17.19 PM

Step 2:

I created a child theme from the F&M theme , creatively called ‘michelle’.

Step 3:

And did some HTML and CSS tweaking..

HOME:

  • I didn’t like the menu bar’s dominating black background, so I changed it to white, the same as the background.
  • I didn’t like the positioning of the menu bar, so I moved it from the top to under the logo.
  • I customised the colour and the font-size of the mouse-overs and the drop-downs.
  • Somehow, when I created the child theme the slideshow function in the parent theme stopped working, so I just installed a new slideshow plugin.
  • I decreased the slideshow container’s height to show more of the blog boxes underneath.
  • I wanted to have the blog boxes closer together, so I enlarged the images and lessened the margin size between them.
  • I’ve been experimenting with different fonts in the blog boxes, I’m still not sure whether I’ll go for the original serif font or stick with my new sans serif.
  • The footer is still in the making…

POSTS & PAGES:

  • The titles are displayed with in-line blocks for enhancement. 
  • I increased the width of the posts and pages container and decreased the width the the sidebar to give more room for the images in the posts and pages.

I INSTALLED PLUGINS:

  • Jetpack: good widgets like stats, the like button, and sharing options.
  • Contact form 7
  • WPtouch: formats  my site with a mobile theme for visitors

And I’m in the process of making custom post types.

My new child theme still looks a lot like it’s parent, but will soon mature!

And in a few weeks you’ll see actual posts…

-mich

 

This entry was published on April 28, 2013 at 10:24 am. It’s filed under Learning Activity, portfolio and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Customize a WordPress Site

  1. To keep your site loading quickly, deactivate the extra modules that you won’t be using with JetPack. I primarily use JetPack for stats and proofreading and have disabled the remaining modules.

Leave a Reply

